Media. News and press releases from across Man Group.

The Man Booker International Prize Finalists 2013

24 January 2013

  • The authors come from nine countries with a Swiss writer included on the list for the first time
  • Marilynne Robinson is the only writer to have appeared on a previous list of finalists, in 2011
  • Marie NDiaye, at 45, is the youngest author ever to be a Man Booker International nominee
  • Yan Lianke and Vladimir Sorokin have both had books banned in their home countries of China and Russia
  • The Kannada language is represented with the inclusion of Indian writer, U.R. Ananthamurthy


The finalists’ list is announced by the chair of judges, Sir Christopher Ricks, at a press conference hosted at the DSC Jaipur Literature Festival in India, today, Thursday 24 January, 2013.

The ten authors on the list are:

  • U.R. Ananthamurthy (India)
  • Aharon Appelfeld (Israel)
  • Lydia Davis (USA)
  • Intizar Husain (Pakistan)
  • Yan Lianke (China)
  • Marie NDiaye (France)
  • Josip Novakovich (Canada)
  • Marilynne Robinson (USA)
  • Vladimir Sorokin (Russia)
  • Peter Stamm (Switzerland)


The judging panel for the Man Booker International Prize 2013 consists of the scholar and literary critic, Sir Christopher Ricks (Chair); author and essayist, Elif Batuman; writer and broadcaster, Aminatta Forna; novelist, Yiyun Li and author and academic, Tim Parks.

Announcing the list, Christopher Ricks comments: ‘Each is the author of a substantial body of published work, whether novels or short stories, either written in or translated into English. Some of these men and women are in their eighties, the youngest in their forties and fifties. They write in ways that are astonishingly different.’

The Man Booker International Prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language.

The winner is chosen solely at the discretion of the judging panel; there are no submissions from publishers. Philip Roth won the prize in 2011, Alice Munro in 2009, Chinua Achebe in 2007 and Ismail Kadaré won the inaugural prize in 2005. In addition, there is a separate award for translation and, if applicable, the winner may choose a translator of his or her work into English to receive a prize of £15,000.

The Man Booker International Prize winner will be announced at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London on 22 May.

The prize is sponsored by Man Group plc, which also sponsors the Man Booker Prize for Fiction. The Man Booker International Prize is significantly different from the annual Man Booker Prize in that it highlights one writer’s continued creativity, development and overall contribution to fiction on the world stage. Both prizes strive to recognise and reward the finest modern literature.

Please update your browser

Unfortunately we no longer support Internet Explorer 8, 7 and older for security reasons.

Please update your browser to a later version and try to access our site again.

Many thanks.