Man Asian Literary Prize 2012 shortlist announced

09 January 2013

The shortlist, which includes writers from five different countries, champions a debut novelist alongside a Nobel laureate, translated work as well as original writing in English, and includes smaller regional publishers as well as larger international houses.

The five shortlisted novels, selected from a longlist of 15, are:

 Author  Country  Title
 Musharraf Ali Farooqi  Pakistan  Between Clay and Dust
 Hiromi Kawakami  Japan  The Briefcase
 Orhan Pamuk  Turkey  Silent House
 Tan Twan Eng  Malaysia  The Garden of Evening Mists
 Jeet Thayil  India  Narcopolis


Award winning literary critic and journalist Dr. Maya Jaggi is chair of the 2012 judging panel. Joining Jaggi as Prize judges for 2012 are award winning Vietnamese-American novelist Monique Truong and novelist Vikram Chandra, most notably winner of the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. The Prize judges’ comments on each of the individual books can be found below.

Professor David Parker, Executive Director of the Asian Literary Prize, the organising body of the award, said, “Several of these writers have been celebrated in their own countries and recognized internationally, but never before have we viewed them collectively as Asian writers. The Man Asian Literary Prize is the only award that places Asian authors from across the whole breadth of the region side by side and gives readers a fresh perspective on the best fiction from our part of the world. Our Prize judges have once again chosen a remarkable selection of books, and I look forward to welcoming all our shortlisted writers to Hong Kong in just a few weeks’ time.”

The winner, who will receive USD 30,000, will be announced on March 14th 2013 at a black tie Prize Dinner in Hong Kong, the home of the Prize. The translator, if any, will receive USD 5,000.

Last year’s winner, Please Look After Mom by South Korean writer Kyung-sook Shin has gone on to sell over 2m copies worldwide. Previous winners of the Prize include Bi Feiyu (2010), Su Tong (2009), Miguel Syjuco (2008) and Jiang Rong (2007).

Following the announcement of the 2012 winner in March 2013, the current sponsor Man Group will relinquish its title sponsorship. As of April 2013 a new title sponsor will sponsor the Asian Literary Prize. Negotiations with interested sponsors are currently ongoing, with an announcement to be made late April 2013.


Global Communications

  • Georgiana Brunner
    Man Group, Head of Communications
    Tel: +44 (0) 20 7144 1000
    Rebecca Hooper
    Man Group, Communications Director
    Tel: +44 20 7144 1103
    Mobile: +44 7513 712636
    Neil Doyle
    FTI Consulting
    Tel: +44 (0) 7771 978 220

United States

Contacts mentioned herein retain the right to record any telephone calls made to them for training and monitoring purposes.