2012 Winner of the Man Asian Literary Prize

14 March 2013

The author won with his novel The Garden of Evening Mists, which is only the second time the Man Asian Literary Prize has been won by a novel originally written in English. All previous winners, except Ilustrado by Miguel Syjuco (2008), won as English translations.

The novel, set during the aftermath of the Japanese occupation of Malaya, won the USD 30,000 award, from a shortlist of five books spanning the whole Asian continent.

The five shortlisted novels, selected from a longlist of 15, are:

 Author  Country  Title
 Musharraf Ali Farooqi  Pakistan  Between Clay and Dust
 Hiromi Kawakami  Japan  The Briefcase
 Orhan Pamuk  Turkey  Silent House
 Tan Twan Eng  Malaysia  The Garden of Evening Mists
 Jeet Thayil  India  Narcopolis


Award winning literary critic and journalist Dr. Maya Jaggi was chair of the 2012 judging panel. Joining Jaggi as Prize judges for 2012 were award winning Vietnamese-American novelist Monique Truong and novelist Vikram Chandra, most notably winner of the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize.

Chair Judge, Dr Maya Jaggi, said, “I have experience of judging many literary awards. But our task as a jury was exceptionally difficult, as well as gratifying, because of the outstanding quality and originality of the novels in contention from across Asia, and the strength of our shortlist.

The winner, The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng, revisits the traumatic aftermath of the Japanese occupation of Malaya, and the post-war insurgency against British rule, with stylistic poise and probing intelligence. Taking its aesthetic cues from the artful deceptions of Japanese landscape gardening, it opens up a startling perspective on converging histories, using the feints and twists of fiction to explore its themes of personal and national honour; love and atonement; memory and forgetting; and the disturbing coexistence of cultural refinement and barbarism.

The layering of historical periods is intricate, the descriptions of highland Malaysia are richly evocative, and the characterisation is both dark and compelling. Guarding its mysteries until the very end, this is a novel of subtle power and redemptive grace.”

Professor David Parker, Executive Director of the Asian Literary Prize, the organising body of the award, said, “Achieved with the seemingly effortless poise of a remarkable fictional artistry, Tan Twan Eng’s winning novel will be prized by all those who cannot resist the mastery of language.”

Last year’s winner, Please Look After Mom by South Korean writer Kyung-sook Shin has gone on to sell over 2m copies worldwide. Previous winners of the Prize include Bi Feiyu (2010), Su Tong (2009), Miguel Syjuco (2008) and Jiang Rong (2007).

Following the announcement of the 2012 winner, the current sponsor Man Group will relinquish its title sponsorship. For 2013, a new title sponsor will sponsor the Asian Literary Prize. Negotiations with interested sponsors are currently ongoing, with an announcement to be made late April 2013.




Global Communications

  • Georgiana Brunner
    Man Group, Head of Communications
    Tel: +44 (0) 20 7144 1000
    Rebecca Hooper
    Man Group, Communications Director
    Tel: +44 20 7144 1103
    Mobile: +44 7513 712636
    Neil Doyle
    FTI Consulting
    Tel: +44 (0) 7771 978 220

United States

Contacts mentioned herein retain the right to record any telephone calls made to them for training and monitoring purposes.