We use cookies on this website, please click here to read our terms and conditions.  Find out more x
USA Public Site

The Man Booker Prize

"The Man Booker Prize promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize is the world's most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and even publishers. The aim of the prize, which receives worldwide press attention, is to promote excellence in fiction by recognizing the best full-length novel published by a citizen of the Commonwealth, or the Republic of Ireland, in the year of the prize.

The Man Booker judges are selected from the country's finest critics, writers and academics to maintain the consistent excellence of the prize. The novel must be an original work in English (not a translation) and must not be self-published.

The winner of the Man Booker Prize receives £50,000 and both the winner and the shortlisted authors are guaranteed a worldwide readership plus a dramatic increase in book sales."
Source www.themanbookerprize.com

Man first took on the sponsorship of the Man Booker Prize for Fiction in 2002. During his speech to the Guildhall audience at the 2011 Prize Awards, Jon Aisbitt, Chairman of Man, said that Man is "delighted to announce tonight that we have signed a new sponsorship agreement with the Booker Foundation for 10 more years of the Man Booker Prize."

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2015 winner

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2015 was won by Marlon James for A Brief History of Seven Killings.

Previous winners

 Year  Author  Title  Country
 2015  Marlon James
 A Brief History of Seven Killings
 2014  Richard Flanagan
 The Narrow Road to the Deep North
 2013  Eleanor Catton
 The Luminaries
 New Zealand
 2012  Hilary Mantel
 Bring up the Bodies
 United Kingdom
 2011  Julian Barnes
 The Sense of an Ending
 United Kingdom
 2010  Howard Jacobson  The Finkler Question  United Kingdom
 2009  Hilary Mantel  Wolf Hall  United Kingdom
 2008  Aravind Adiga  The White Tiger  India
 2007  Anne Enright  The Gathering  Ireland
 2006  Kiran Desai  The Inheritance of Loss  India
 2005  John Banville  The Sea Novel  Ireland
 2004  Alan Hollinghurst  The Line of Beauty  United Kingdom
 2003  DBC Pierre  Vernon God Little  Australia
 2002  Yann Martel  Life of Pi  Canada

The Man Booker International Prize

The Man Booker International Prize recognizes one writer for his or her achievement in fiction.

Worth £60,000, the prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language. The winner is chosen solely at the discretion of the judging panel and there are no submissions from publishers. In addition, there is a separate award for translation and the winner may choose a translator of his or her work into English to receive a prize of £15,000.

The Man Booker International Prize is significantly different from the annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction. In seeking out literary excellence, the judges consider a writer's body of work rather than a single novel.

The Man Booker International Prize is sponsored by Man Group plc, which also sponsors the Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

The Man Booker International Prize 2015 winner

László Krasznahorkai

László Krasznahorkai was announced as the winner of the Man Booker International Prize 2015 on Tuesday 19 May 2015.

László Krasznahorkai was born in 1954. He gained considerable recognition in 1985 when he published Satantango which he later adapted for the cinema in collaboration with the filmmaker Bela Tarr. In 1993, he received the German Bestenliste Prize for the best literary work of the year for The Melancholy of Resistance and has since been honored with numerous literary prizes, amongst them the highest award of the Hungarian state, the Kossuth Prize. Krasznahorkai and his translator George Szirtes were longlisted for the 2013 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize for Satantango and Krasznahorkai has won the Best Translated Book Award in the US two years in a row, in 2013 for Satantango and in 2014 for Seiobo Down Below, both published by New Directions.

Krasznahorkai chose to split the £15,000 translator’s prize between two translators, George Szirtes (who translated Satantango and The Melancholy of Resistance) and Ottilie Mulzet (who translated Seiobo There Below). Szirtes is a Hungarian-born poet who came to the UK as a refugee. He has won a number of prizes for his poetry, including the T S Eliot Prize. He has also translated Sándor Márai amongst others. Ottilie Mulzet is a Hungarian translator of poetry and prose, as well as a literary critic. She has worked as the English-language editor of the internet journal of the Hungarian Cultural Centre in Prague, and her translations appear regularly at Hungarian Literature Online.

Recent winners

 Year  Author  Country
 2015  László Krasznahorkai  Hungary
 2013  Lydia Davis  USA
 2011  Philip Roth  USA
 2009  Alice Munro  Canada
 2007  Chinua Achebe  Nigeria
 2005  Ismail Kadaré  Albania

Please wait...